Multicultural Resource Center announces annual senior, faculty/staff awards

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. — The Multicultural Resource Center will host its 26th annual Senior Awards and Faculty/Staff Diversity Recognition Reception from 1:30 to 3:30 p.m. on Thursday, April 6, in Robb Hall in the Hintz Family Alumni Center. The reception is a chance to honor faculty, staff and graduating seniors who have done a phenomenal job at promoting diversity and multiculturalism on campus.

Seven students, two faculty, and one staff member will be recognized. Marcus Whitehurst, vice provost for Educational Equity; Moses Davis, director of the Multicultural Resource Center; and the MRC counselors will provide remarks and present the awards.

"The Multicultural Resource Center Awards reception recognizes the outstanding contributions of senior students, staff, and faculty that make Penn State a more welcoming and inclusive environment for multicultural students. Individuals are nominated by members of the Penn State community and selected by a team of staff members who work in the Multicultural Resource Center," Davis said.

The 2017 award winners are:

Faculty/Staff Awards:
Henry McCoullum, assistant dean, Science Diversity Initiatives, Eberly College of Science
John Dattilo, professor, recreation, park and tourism management, College of Health and Human Development

John Romano Faculty/Staff Award:
Valerie Mendez-Gallardo, assistant professor, psychology, Penn State Brandywine

Academic Scholarship Award:
Amina Grant, environmental systems engineering, College of Earth and Mineral Sciences

Inspiring Student Leader Award:
Cameron Spiller, economics, College of the Liberal Arts

Student Leadership Award:
Whitney Brown, science, Eberly College of Science
Anita Nham, public relations, College of Communications

Resilient Student Award:
Hyejin Sung, sociology, College of the Liberal Arts

Volunteer Service Award:
Unnati Shah, biology, Eberly College of Science

Student Speaker Award:
Sergio Diaz Sandoval, materials science and engineering, College of Earth and Mineral Sciences