Students recognized for outstanding leadership

Student leaders at Penn State Brandywine were recognized for their positive influence on the student body, outstanding service to the campus community through volunteering, cross-cultural understanding, academic excellence and campus involvement during the campus' annual Leadership Recognition Night on April 24.

Zanya Stephenson received the Eric A. and Josephine S. Walker Award, a University-wide award given annually to full-time undergraduate students from each of the campus locations. The Walker award recognizes a student whose outstanding qualities of character, scholarship, leadership and citizenship have been directed into programs and services that have positively influenced fellow students and have contributed to the prestige and well-being of their campus and, hence, to the reputation of the University as a whole.

Labanaya Mookerjee received the Outstanding Student Service to Campus and Community Award, which recognizes a student who has given outstanding service to the campus and community through volunteering their time by assisting others or impacting the lives of others, thereby gaining positive recognition for herself and for the campus.

Theresa Malatesta received the Barbara Jackson-Williams Cross Cultural Understanding Award, which recognizes a student who has clearly demonstrated that individual differences are valuable and that learning about others who are culturally different is necessary and rewarding; who has shown the ability to gain the trust and respect of individuals who are culturally different from themselves; who has initiated programming efforts involving multicultural issues at Penn State Brandywine or who has provided outstanding service in a variety of cultural student organizations at Penn State Brandywine.

Eileen Fresta received the Outstanding Adult Student Award, recognizing an outstanding adult student who demonstrates initiative, tenacity and flexibility in overcoming obstacles to furthering her education; who serves as a role model for other adult students by sensitizing the institution to the needs of adult students and by establishing herself as a leader in the peer group; who achieves academic excellence as measured by cumulative GPA and whose clearly defined short and long term goals reflect the values and ideals of higher education.

There was a tie for the Student Club/Organization of the Year between the Gay-Straight Alliance and the Marketing and Advertising Club. This award recognizes a student club or organization that has shown exceptional involvement throughout the year. These clubs or organizations were active in recruiting new members and keeping them engaged and involved and contributed to the quality of student life and promoted campus involvement.

The No H8 (pronounced "hate") Campaign was named Outstanding Program or Event of the Year, an award?that recognizes a program or event that has enhanced the quality of student life by promoting campus community and Penn State pride. This program demonstrates creativity, uniqueness and inclusion.

Advising and Career Services staff member Sally Ent was honored with the Club/Organization Adviser of the Year Award, which recognizes a faculty or staff member that volunteers their time to serve as a club or organization adviser. This adviser has shown that they are truly engaged in the activities and mission of the student organization and are committed to enhancing the student life experience.

Student Government Association President Pawel Zwierzchowski received the Deborah J. Erie Student Leader Award, recognizing a student leader who displays commitment and dedication to multiple organizations while maintaining solid academic standards. This student has shown how leadership involvement contributes to building pride in one's campus and enriches the overall college experience.

Aimee Ralph received the Diane D. Shorter Service Award, recognizing a student or event, which contributes to the spirit of civic engagement through raising awareness of and enlisting campus involvement towards supporting a cause.

Linda Truong was the recipient of the Student Affairs Excellence Award.

Simeon Freeman received the Lion Pride Award for demonstrating commitment and dedication while acting as the Nittany Lion mascot.