Home Campus Directory | A-Z Index

Campus Honors Academic Excellence

4/15/2011 —

(To view a photo gallery of the event, click on the camera icon above. If you'd like to order photos from the photographer, click here and enter the following password if asked, 04711.)

There has never been a shortage of excellence at Penn State Brandywine, and this year is no different. The campus honored outstanding students and faculty at its annual Academic Recognition ceremony on Thursday, April 7.

In a room packed with family, friends and a supportive campus community, nearly 170 students were presented with the Academic Achievement Award, which celebrates students at the campus with cumulative grade point averages of 3.5 or higher.

In addition, five students were inducted into the Sigma Tau Delta English Honor Society, which confers distinction upon students of the English language and literature in undergraduate, graduate and professional studies. The five students were juniors Mary-Therese Capaldi, Jennifer Santangelo, Lauren Orner and Martina Delgado, and senior Andrew Shaner.

Sophomore Patricia McGinnis received the President Sparks Award, for earning a 4.0 cumulative grade point average on at least 36 graded Penn State credits.

The President’s Freshman Award was presented to freshmen Sarah Demartino, Nicholas Vico, Timothy Yeung and Kayla Centone, and sophomore Labanya Mookerjee.

Senior John Formento received the Dr. Randall S. Stout Memorial Award for demonstrating superior academic performance and outstanding participation in the Bachelor of Science in Business program.

Sophomore Taj Magruder was recognized for receiving the President’s Volunteer Service Award from the President’s Council on Service and Civic Participation for completing more than 250 volunteer hours in a 12-month period.

Senior Jacqueline Glace was honored with the Undergraduate Student Research Award. "From her time working for the Appalachian Service Project to her triple-barreled thesis, analyzing children’s books about Appalachia, writing and publishing her own story book and designing curriculum materials to teach children through it, Jacqueline Glace has proven a strong commitment to both research and its application,” said Professor of English, Women's Studies and American Studies Phyllis Cole as she presented the award.

image of several of the award winners

Some of the award winners pictured above - Top from left: Jennifer Zosh, John Tierney, Elizabeth Dudkin, Stephen Cimbala
Bottom from left: Taj Magruder, Sharon Manco, Jacqueline Glace, Jean McKay, John Formento

The Undergraduate Faculty Research Award was given to Professor of Chemistry John Tierney. "The winner of this year’s award has been at our campus for over a quarter of a century, and during this time has attained legendary status for pursuing collaborative research with students,” Cole said. “He has demonstrated many times that sophomores taking the organic chemistry laboratory course can obtain results publishable in world-class journals.”

Distinguished Professor of Political Science Stephen Cimbala received the Faculty Research Program Award for scholarly or creative excellence. "He began by writing op-ed essays on American and international politics in the early ’80s and has never really stopped speaking to newspaper audiences,” Cole said. “Meanwhile, he also grew through an accelerating series of articles to his first edited book in 1984 and first single-authored book in 1987. Since then, he has edited 19 books and written 33 more. Our awardee has shared his insight into the news and provoked thought for three decades of students.”

Instructor in Language and Literacy Education Sharon Manco was honored with the George W. Franz Advising and Mentoring Award. As he presented the award, Associate Professor of Engineering Ivan Esparragoza said, "She serves our students with passion and dedication to ensure they can succeed in their careers, and she has gone beyond her work duties to serve as mentor, adviser and counselor for them."

Instructor Jean McKay received the Teaching Award for Part-time Faculty.
"Jean McKay is deserving of the part-time teacher award for her tireless and enthusiastic contribution to the success of her students, her colleagues and the campus,” said Senior Instructor in English Patricia Hillen. “Through innovations in courses, voluntary mentoring and collaboration with colleagues, she demonstrates enthusiasm, skill and professionalism."

This year’s Distinguished Teacher Award was presented to Assistant Professor of Human Development and Family Studies (HDFS) Jennifer Zosh, by Instructor in HDFS Kathy Meehan, who said, “As one of her students said, 'The energy with which she teaches is unmatched by any other teacher I have had. Not only is she a master of Early Childhood development and psychology, she is also a wonderful adviser and Penn State cheerleader!'"

Associate Professor of Biology Elizabeth Dudkin received the Madlyn Hanes Faculty Award. Presenting the award, Professor of HDFS Cynthia Lightfoot said, "One of many to recommend her for this award noted that 'her high level of service and dedication to this campus should not only be recognized but also emulated.' I couldn’t agree more. It’s clear that in teaching, research and service, she hits a home run in every category."

Email this story to a friend Facebook Twitter